Lessons From a Failed Travel Blogger

Tales of fear, embarrassment and straight-up laziness

Sarah Aboulhosn
6 min readJul 30, 2019

I’ve started a lot of blogs. I’ve abandoned A LOT of blogs. With every new blog I started, I vowed this time would be different. It never was. Because I was the same and I didn’t learn from my mistakes after I made them. I blamed everything and everyone around me instead of recognizing that I wasn’t doing things in a right or honest way. I so badly wanted to be COOL and have followers and get free stuff. I saw what other travel bloggers were doing and thought “I can do that better than they can.”

I tried a lot of different routes to be a travel blogger. I started a few blogs of my own, which upon seeing no traffic, I abruptly abandoned. Then I guest blogged for a handful of websites that paid me a whopping $10 per post. My logic was that at least I was getting my name out there, which I was. But what I didn’t know was that these sites were only using my content to make their own affiliate income.

A few of my articles on a now-scammy affiliate travel site.

The thing is, I never wanted to be a travel blogger. I just wanted to travel and make money while doing so. But in my mind travel blogging was a quick way to do both of those things…

--

--

Sarah Aboulhosn

Occasional writer, and serial project-starter/abandoner. I have a lot of feelings.