9 Habits of an Unsuccessful Person Trying Their Best

Let’s celebrate my mediocrity

Sarah Aboulhosn
4 min readSep 26, 2018
“Kale Sucks neon sign” by Charles Deluvio 🇵🇭🇨🇦 on Unsplash

We praise the 1%. The Musks and the Bezos’. But despite not being billionaire or pioneers of innovation, ost of us are still doing fine. We’re the 99% and we’re doing our best and making it work.

I don’t wake up at 5am and run 5 miles. I don’t work a 4-hour workweek or know how to scale a company from 6–7 figures. I don’t even know how to 10x…anything really. But I do know that I wake up every day, put in the effort and try my best at whatever it is I have to do that day. I put in hours, I try new things. I fail a lot and then try other new things. and I’m not sure I’ll ever amount to much more than a freelancer. But I think this culture of idolizing only the 1% is a bit toxic. So this article is about the everyday things that I do that make feel 1% better (or sometimes worse) about how I’ve spent my time that day. The habits that, in the moment don’t amount to much. But over time, also may not amount to much. But they’re habits and I do them, and feeling bad about doing things that make you feel good is counterproductive because we’re all just out here trying out best.

Waking up when I feel like it

To me, deciding not to work a 9–5 ever again means being able to wake up at a time that makes me feel good. I once…

--

--

Sarah Aboulhosn

Occasional writer, and serial project-starter/abandoner. I have a lot of feelings.